Ilalliqoq ma’assalamah

It has been 10 years since IIUM and I met. It has been a love and hate as well as bitter sweet affair. After completing my studies there, I was given the chance to serve the university as a part time employee. Our trademark relationship since my student days continued. I worked for the first 2 years at the residential hostel (Mahallah As-Siddiq) before working for a year and change at the Student Development Division.

During 3 odd years, I was given the widest of opportunity to serve the university to the extend that when I looked back, I still can’t believe it. Heck, most junior officers in the government can only dream of what I was doing. I went all over the Peninsula and almost went to Aceh, Indonesia (the university paid for my passport!).
It was great but alas changes in life will always be sovereign. You can scream, hate it, or laugh at it or even love it; bottom line when it comes, it bulldozed all of your plans, hopes and dreams. Well so much for that. Anyway, as I am lamenting on this, my realplayer is playing “You and I Both”. Jason Mraz sang the following :-
And it’s okay if you have go away
Oh just remember the telephone works both ways
And if I never ever hear them ring
If nothing else I’ll think the bells inside
Have finally found you someone else and that’s okay
Cause I’ll remember everything you sang
Cause you and I both loved what you and I spoke of
and others just read of and if you could see now
well I’m almost finally out of.
I’m finally out of, finally, deedeeededede
well I’m almost finally, finally, finally out of words
Well UIAM, I wrote something in return…
Was not it just yesterday
When the skies were heavenly blue
The parades of clouds drifted lazily
The wind breezing calmly
Was not it just yesterday
When the moon shone its fullest
The stars sparkled through the night
As the lone traveler sought out his destiny over the horizon
Was not it just yesterday
When our eyes met
As hands shook fast
Thus our brotherhood bloomed
Was not it just yesterday
When a storm brewed just ahead
Yet we braved it through
Huddled together, wet and cold yet determined
Was not it just yesterday
When we found our treasure
Reserved only for those who believed
During the years of sweat and toil, blood and tears
And still it came; as it has been waiting
It was neither willed nor wanted
By mortals be it human or beast
For parting has never been rejoiced upon
Thus I carry the memories of the years passed
As my burden as well as my bounty
Fret not! Our paths shall crossed yet again
Pray! And God willing, it shall be soon!
Dedicated to the love of my life :

Leave a Reply

