As we go on…

  

 

img_8483

 Behind a Cloudy Future : Standing at a viewing platform in Hainan Leiqiong (Haikou Volcanic Cluster Global Geopark) 
15km southwest of Haikou, Hainan, China (7 – 11.12.2008 )

After struggling all these while with the numerous happenings in life, I think it’s high time for another update. You see having several blogs is quite a chore but hey 4 years ago the blogging scene were still strictly for the meek as well as the geek. Finding the right blogging tools is a matter of choice today with some added twist here and there. So here I am, after a long thought, might as well get something written whether or not it’s done at Friendster, Blogger or WordPress. Of course, seeing other people I know running a blog somehow makes you feel a bit left out and not to mention the stucked me out as a rather black sheep; which effectively got me running to my laptop for some gibberish writing.

The past 2 years went like yesterday. A good deal amount of time were spent on things I never dreamt of, while some of it I couldn’t remember much. It was fast, it was quick, it was somewhat sweet with dashes of sourness & bitter sprinkled over like cheddar cheese on a pizza. Come to think of it, a bite of a slice of pizza sounds mighty good but I’ll pass. As usual, whilst I tap on the keyboard, the background is filled with music playing from my MSI Mega Book Laptop bought last year at the cost of RM2,400.00. A great setup for your usual work, some extra gaming depth experience with the added bonus of being an effective weapon if thrown correctly to a thief’s head. Yes, it weighs a tonne close to 3 kg. A beast of burden nonetheless my closest friend after my motorbike.

The sound in the background is a song from Vitamin C – Graduation (Friends Forever). An old song indeed hailing from the year 1998 I think. I can still remember Rick Dees, the famous DJ from the American radio programme  called Rick Dees Weekly Top 40 played on Hitz.FM on Saturdays & Sundays, who commented that the lead singer for Vitamin C once missed her high school graduation because of she had a live concert on that day. According to Mr. Dees, she later organized another graduation ceremony for all her class so she then be able to attend it together. The song Graduation were obviously sung at the event.

Well, so much for that. Incidently with the song playing (or intentionally), I’m scheduled to attend another graduation ceremony for a 6-month course I attended. Before going to the course, I was in anxiety not because of excitement but due to unfounded rumours (which later on I found to be untrue) that we were going to be tormented & tortured. Yet when it came to finish , Ibegan to cheerish each passing second of  the course. Friends were made, ardenaline rushes constantly felt because of the excitment and last but not least, I got another chance to be young and silly again. The carefree days of my school going years were quickly relived by yours truly. I won’t comment more on the adventures I had since I originally planned to write it down in chapters with Part 1 already posted at Friendster; probably I’ll write it all here one fine day.

UIA

Silent Testament : IIUM Mosque standing against a bright blue powdery skyline

I still remember my graduation ceremony at IIUM in 2003. I finished a tad late (1 year to be exact) so I went to graduate all by myself without having to share the joy of it with friends. Thank God mom & dad were there though. Still I felt rather displaced all by my own. Whilst graduates were busy taking photos together & very much enjoying themselves, I quickly whiskes myself back into the background of UIAM i.e. to my office at Mahallah As-Siddiq. Of course, I spent awhile with my parents for some group photos.  You see, everywhere I turned, undoubtedly UIA was somehow & somewhere there for me. Although the feelings for UIA has somewhat lessened or I may have been numbed through the hard times. Whatever it is, I’m glad UIA is always there for others to share its beauty & uniqueness felt only amongst true lovers in stories of yesteryears.  I wonder how are my friends doing now; SMAS, Maahad, UIA, DPA and the lot; would we be friends forever as we go on?

“Graduation (Friends Forever)”
And so we talked all night about the rest of our lives
Where we’re gonna be when we turn 25
I keep thinking times will never change
Keep on thinking things will always be the same
But when we leave this year we won’t be coming back
No more hanging out cause we’re on a different track
And if you got something that you need to say
You better say it right now cause you don’t have another day
Cause we’re moving on and we can’t slow down
These memories are playing like a film without sound
And I keep thinking of that night in June
I didn’t know much of love
But it came too soon
And there was me and you
And then we got real blue
Stay at home talking on the telephone
We would get so excited and we’d get so scared
Laughing at ourselves thinking life’s not fair
And this is how it feels

 [1] – As we go on
We remember
All the times we
Had together
And as our lives change
Come Whatever
We will still be
Friends Forever

So if we get the big jobs
And we make the big money
When we look back now
Will our jokes still be funny?
Will we still remember everything we learned in school?
Still be trying to break every single rule
Will little brainy Bobby be the stockbroker man?
Can Heather find a job that won’t interfere with her tan?
I keep, I keep thinking that it’s not goodbye
Keep on thinking it’s a time to fly
And this is how it feels

[Repeat 1]

La, la, la, la:
Yeah, yeah, yeah
La, la, la, la:
We will still be friends forever

Will we think about tomorrow like we think about now?
Can we survive it out there?
Can we make it somehow?
I guess I thought that this would never end
And suddenly it’s like we’re women and men
Will the past be a shadow that will follow us ’round?
Will these memories fade when I leave this town
I keep, I keep thinking that it’s not goodbye
Keep on thinking it’s a time to fly

2 responses to “As we go on…

  1. u make we wanna cry!! (diishh..debusshhh you)
    well eeq, we’ll still be friends forever…

    i miss yr gila-gila act!

Leave a Reply

